Team Great Britain In-line Hockey

2007 Roster Named
Fifteen Players named to Great Britain Team

The Great Britain Men’s team for the IIHF World Championships today announced their roster line-up for the 2007 tournament to be held in Passau, Germany May 26th-June 3rd.

Great Britain will take sixteen players to Germany where the team will be defending the Division One gold medal and attempting to earn promotion to the elite division.

Player coach Andrew Sillitoe named fifteen players including two goalies for the tournament and is confident of further success.
“Last year I said selecting the team was the toughest part of my job and it’s been even harder this time around,” said Sillitoe. “It’s a measure of our progress to look at the quality of players that we’ll be leaving behind… This was a really tough choice and we hope the guys who did not make it will work hard to make the team next year.”

This year’s roster features ten returnees from the 2006 tournament including last year’s Division One Most Valuable Player and GB all time record scorer John Dolan and team captain Simon Hehir and both will both be making their fifth consecutive appearances at the World tournament. Sillitoe, himself GB’s second highest scorer and Rotherham’s Andrew Skelding (fifth all time) also make their fifth showing at the worlds while Nottingham’s Chris Colegate returns for his second GB campaign having been highly instrumental in the gold medal run in 2006 where he scored seven goals in seven games on route to the final.

Four players make their IIHF tournament debuts. Twenty-year olds Alex Pearman (defence) and Johnny Mitchell (forward) will make their first appearances for GB at this level and twenty-five year old Remi Moses also makes his debut. On Pearman Sillitoe expects the youngster to make a big impact.
“We expect Alex to get some points and offers us a lot with his strength and power, he also skates well for a big guy.”
On Mitchell, Sillitoe says the player has been on the radar for some time. “We’ve been watching him for a while now and he has really impressed me this last eighteen months. He’s worked hard to make the team and deserves a shot.”

The third debutant is 25 year old forward Remi Moses. “Remi adds a new dimension to our team with his physical presence and general defensive awareness,” adds the GB coach. 16 year old forward Kurt Waller also joins the team for the first time as the 2007 recipient of the Junior Scholarship.

Returning to the team for the first time since 2004 is Nottingham’s Joe Wightman, who last appeared for GB in the gold medal game in Bad Tolz scoring five goals in seven games in Germany. “I’m very pleased to see Joe back in the team”, says Sillitoe. “Few players have as much natural skill as him and he’s had a great ice hockey season so will bring a lot to the table. We’re expecting good things.”

Sillitoe also named four reserve players who will be on standby in case of any injuries. “Overall I’m pleased with the mix we have in guys returning and the new faces and I am confident we can perform well. We’ve got very good players on the standby list and to see how good they are shows us how lucky we are. Hopefully we won’t have any injuries but these guys could all step up.”

The final roster will meet up on Saturday April 21st for a final practice before flying out to Germany on 23rd of May.

Great Britain begins the 2007 World Championships on the 26th May against South Africa in the first of three group games. GB will then face Namibia and Japan before the playoff round commences.

2007 IIHF In-Line Team Great Britain Roster
Name Position Caps Goals Points
Stuart Brian F 14 6 10
Chris Colgate F 7 7 11
John Dolan F 26 41 77
Simon Hehir (captain) D 26 16 61
Kris Hendy D 7 2 3
Johnny Mitchell* F 0 0 0
Alex Pearman* D 0 0 0
Andrew Sillitoe ** D 26 22 53
Andy Skelding F 26 22 38
Aaron Shinwell D 19 3 4
Joe Wightman D 7 5 7
Remi Moses* F 0 0 0
James Tanner GK 14 0 0
Dan Wood GK 14 0 0

2007 Junior Scholarship
Kurt Waller* F 0 0 0
+1 to be named

*Denotes debutant
**Player / Coach

Reserves (to be called upon in case of injury or illness)
Nick Avery
Matt Tarpey
Scott Glover
Leigh Roberts

Sponsorship and Advertising opportunities still exist for the 2007 tournament. Please contact Dave Hawkins at or see www, for further details.

2007 Sponsors: , D-Line, The Hockey Stop, Revision Hockey